Dear President Biden and Vice President Harris,

Thank you for your administration's early focus on climate change, tribal sovereignty, and racial justice and equity, including your decision to repeal permits for the Keystone XL tar sands pipeline. We also applaud your critical efforts to save lives and address the COVID-19 pandemic that is disproportionately impacting BIPOC communities across our country. As your administration take actions to address the climate crisis and strengthen relationships with Indigenous communities, we respectfully urge you to reverse another harmful Trump administration decision and immediately shut down the Dakota Access Pipeline (DAPL) during its court-ordered environmental review.

In 2016, the Standing Rock Sioux Tribe became the epicenter of a global climate justice movement to stop the illegal construction of the Dakota Access Pipeline. The pipeline had originally been slated to cross the Missouri River north of Bismarck, ND, yet the risk of an oil spill on the city's 90% white inhabitants was deemed too great. The new crossing site shifted the risk to the Standing Rock Sioux Tribe, in a location of key religious and cultural importance to the Tribe, including the burial grounds of their ancestors. The U.S. Army Corps of Engineers approved several of the required pipeline permits without conducting an environmental review or adequately consulting with the Tribe.

After several months of peaceful demonstrations and the advocacy of tens of millions of Americans, President Obama listened to the demands of the Standing Rock Sioux Tribe. He declined to issue the final pipeline easement permit, and the U.S. Army Corps of Engineers announced they would conduct a full environmental review, which would focus on the Tribe's treaty rights. However, your predecessor made continued oppression of Native peoples a priority and reversed course hours after he took office. In response, the Standing Rock Sioux Tribe sued the federal government and in March 2020, the U.S. District Court for the District of Columbia found for the second time that the U.S. Army Corps of Engineers violated the National Environmental Policy Act by failing to consider several critical issues and ignoring key evidence submitted by the Tribe. The Court ordered the U.S. Army Corps to prepare an EIS and in July 2020 vacated the pipeline easement and ordered the pipeline shut down. After an appeal to this decision, on January 27th, days after your Inauguration, the federal appeals court has ruled the pipeline is illegal and your Administration must tell the Judge on February 10th what you plan to do: either shut down the pipeline or allow it to operate illegally without a permit.

We urge you to remedy this historic injustice and direct the U.S. Army Corps of Engineers to immediately shut down the illegal Dakota Access Pipeline while the Environmental Impact Statement process is conducted, consistent with the D.C. District Court's decision and order. Additionally, the U.S. Army Corps must ensure a robust environmental review with significant Tribal consultation, tribal consent, and a thorough risk analysis.

With your leadership, we have a momentous opportunity to put an end to the reflexive habit of our government steamrolling the interests of sovereign tribes and Indigenous communities in favor of corporate interests. This is our moment.

Mni Wiconi. Water is life.

Sincerely,

Aaron Rodgers, Athele

Alexis Saenz, Executive Director and Chapter Representative, International Indigenous Youth

Council Los Angeles Chapter

Ava DuVernay, Filmmaker

Alysia Reiner, Actress

Alssa Milano, Actor, Producer, Activist

Amy Schumer, Performer

Anathea Chino, Co-founder and Executive Director, Advance Native Political Leadership

Bobbi Jean Three Legs, Climate Justice Divestment Organizer, Seeding Sovereignty

Bruce Cohen, Producer, We Stand United

Catherine Gund, Filmmaker

Chelsea Handler, Comedian

Chris Evans, Actor

Christina Papagjika, Entertainment Producer

Crystal Echo Hawk, Executive Director, IllumiNative

Dany Sigwalt, Executive Director, Power Shift Network

Don Cheadle, Actor

Dwaine Perry, Chief of Ramapough Lenape Nation

Ed Helms, Actor/Producer

Elizabeth Bast, Executive Director, Oil Change International

Ellie Cohen, Chief Executive Officer, The Climate Center

Fran Teplitz, Executive Co-Director, Green America

Jade Begay, Climate Justice Director, NDN Collective

Jane Kleeb, Founder, Bold Alliance

Jane Fonda, Actor, Activist, Fire Drill Fridays

Janet MacGillivray, Executive Director, Seeding Sovereignty

Jasmine Sanders, Executive Director, Our Climate Education Fund

Jason Momoa, Actor

Jennifer Connelly, Actress

Jeremy Renner, Actor

Joanie Steinhaus, Gulf Program Director, Turtle Island Restoration Network

Joaquin Phoenix, Actor

Jodi Archambault, Former Obama Advisor and Citizen of Standing Rock Sioux Tribe

Joseph Uehlein, President, Labor Network for Sustainability

Julie Bergman, Filmmaker

Julia Walsh, Director, We Stand United

Karenna Gore, Director, Center for Earth Ethics

Kate Ogden, Advocacy and Movement Building Manager, Seventh Generation

Kerry Washington, Actor

Kierán Suckling, Executive Director, Center for Biological Diversity

Laura Dawn, Founder, ART NOT WAR

Leonardo DiCaprio, Actor

Lilakoi Moon, Artist

Louie Psihoyos, Academy-award winning filmmaker and Executive Director, Oceanic

**Preservation Society** 

Dr. Lucky Tran, Managing Director, March for Science

Marisa Tomei, Actor, We Stand United

Mark Ruffalo, Actor, Director, Producer, We Stand United

Michael Brune, Executive Director, Sierra Club

Mishel Prada, Actor

Mitch Bernard, President and Chief Counsel, Natural Resource Defense Council

Naomi Klein, Writer

Nicole Donaghy, Executive Director, North Dakota Native Vote & Enrolled citizen of Standing

Rock Sioux Tribe

Orlando Bloom, Actor

Paola Mendoza, Filmmaker, Actor

Patrick McCully, Climate and Energy Program Director, Rainforest Action Network

Paul Bettany, Actor

Peter Yarrow, Performer, Folksinger, Peter, Paul and Mary

Piper Perabo, Actor

Rahna Epting, Executive Director, MoveOn.org

Rania Batrice, Interim Executive Director, March for Science

Rebecca Chaiklin, Filmmaker, We Stand United

Robert Downey Jr., Actor

X Jo Horse, Executive Director, Western Native Voice

Rooney Mara, Actor

Ryan Reynolds, Actor

Sarah Silverman, Comedian

Scarlett Johansson, Actress

Schele Williams, Director

Shailene Woodley, Actress

Taboo Nawasha, Artist, Activist, Black Eyed Peas
Tamara Roske, Executive Director, Earth Guardians
Todd Haynes, Filmmaker
Uzo Aduba, Artist
Varshini Prakash, Executive Director, Sunrise Movement
Wenonah Hauter, Founder and Executive Director, Food & Water Watch