Skip to main content

Title VI of the Civil Rights Act

The Latest On: Title VI of the Civil Rights Act

March 8, 2016 | Explainer

What You Need To Know About Title VI of the Civil Rights Act of 1964

The Civil Rights Act of 1964 outlawed discrimination on the basis of color, religion, national origin and gender. The text of the law is thematically organized into eleven sections, Title I to Title XI. Title VI is of particular significance. Find out why.

March 8, 2016 | Análisis

Título VI de la Ley de Derechos Civiles de 1964

La Ley de Derechos Civiles de 1964 prohibió la discriminación en base a color, religión, origen nacional y género. El texto de la ley está organizado por temas en once secciones, desde el Título I al Título XI. El Título VI es de particular importancia.

January 28, 2016 | Article

EPA to Weaken Civil Rights Protections Under Obama

The EPA’s Office of Civil Rights is trying to weaken civil rights protections through a new proposal that will negatively impact communities that suffer environmental discrimination.

December 11, 2015 | Article

Hogwash from the Pork Industry

The biggest agribusiness companies in the world want you to think they’re standing up for small family farms—but that’s a load of manure.

October 30, 2015 | Feature

Righting Civil Wrongs

Title VI of the Civil Rights Act of 1964 is one of the few enforceable civil rights laws that cover environmental actions. And from California to Michigan, low-income communities of color have been waiting years for the EPA to take a stand against environmental racism.

October 30, 2015 | Crónica

Corrigiendo Las Injusticias Civiles Del Pasado

Desde California hasta Michigan, las comunidades de color de bajos recursos llevan años esperando que la Agencia de Protección Ambiental de EEUU tome una posición respecto al racismo medioambiental.